Three Months

Big week for my girly. She laughed for the first time on Sunday, May 3, turned three months on May 4, and today (May 5) she rolled over front to back for the first time. (Ali rolled back to front first.)

Ayla was in the bath with me and her brother and was looking at her dad when she laughed. I don’t know what made her laugh, but it was such a sweet sound.

Today I had her doing tummy time and that big wobbly head just kind of went to her right and she got herself in a kind of twisted side-lying position. The post of her play gym was in her way, so I scooted her away from it a little, preserving her body positioning. Little by little she kept trying until she was all of a sudden lying on her back. It’s hard to say how intentional it was. It did seem like she was trying to do something. Maybe just get into a more comfortable position. Maybe just exploring movement. But it was pretty awesome to witness.

20200504_14345520200504_14344920200504_14345320200504_142716

ETA: She achieved locomotion this week, too, I think on Wednesday, May 6. On her back, she can dig in her heels and scoot herself in the direction of her head. Pretty cool.

Less cool? She’s getting up about 3 times a night to feed, and last night / this morning she was up at 11:30, 3am, and 5am – 11am. I am tired.

Also, skylighter = screwdriver in Ali-speak.

Leave a comment