My Task

I didn’t plant the trees
That tower above me
Or move the earth
To make the mountain I stand on
I didn’t invent candles
Or paper or pens
I didn’t develop
The fantastic mechanisms of the breath
Or engineer the tireless heart
Or the frenetic wiring in my skull
(I couldn’t even build
A single cell)
I didn’t mine the metal
Used to cut my belly
Or train the surgeon
In the art of cutting the right things
I didn’t write the books or music
That make my life worth living
I didn’t raise my husband
Or mother myself
Yet all of it is mine
Given freely down the years.

My task in this life
Aside from enjoying what is
Is to plant a tree now and then
With love for people I will never know.

Leave a Reply

